Sunday, September 11, 2022

OTTplay hosts inaugural edition of India’s first-ever multilingual OTT celebration – OTTplay Awards

~The event was graced by iconic figures from the film fraternity such as Vidya Balan, Kartik Aaryan, Pankaj Tripathi, Tapsee Pannu and many more ~

~ Celebrates the phenomenal growth of India’s OTT ecosystem with the launch of OTTplay Awards ~

National, 10th September 2022: OTTplay, India’s newest OTT aggregator and one-of-its-kind personalized recommendation platform hosted the inaugural edition of OTTplay Awards in Mumbai. The awards aim to celebrate and recognize some of the most compelling films and shows as well as identify artistic excellence from India’s OTT ecosystem.

OTTplay Awards are India’s first-ever multilingual OTT awards that aim to highlight and reward extraordinary stories and storytellers across the country, irrespective of the region, language, and genre. Following the philosophy of  ‘One Nation, One OTT Awards’, this unique initiative by OTTplay platform brought together some of the most iconic stars and filmmakers from the world’s fastest-growing OTT industry under one roof at JW Marriott in Mumbai. 

Talking about the inaugural edition of the OTTplay Awards, Mr. Avinash Mudaliar, Co-Founder and CEO, OTTplay said, “As we host the inaugural edition of OTTplay Awards, we aim to recognize the talent, stories and content generated by India’s OTT platforms in the past 1 year, keeping audiences entertained during the most unprecedented times faced by humanity. The phenomenal rise of India’s OTT ecosystem as a mainstream content delivery and consumption platform has truly been a testament to the love and support it has garnered from audiences across the country. Going forward, we are confident that the medium will continue to generate and offer ground-breaking content for audiences globally. On this occasion, we would like to congratulate all the winners, while also extending a vote of thanks to everyone who have been part of this celebration.” 

The extravagant celebrations were graced by a broad spectrum of iconic performers as well as storytellers from India’s entertainment industry. Some of the notable attendees at the OTTplay Awards included Karan Johar, Kartik Aryan, Tapsee Pannu, Vidya Balan, Pankaj Tripathi, Raveena Tandon, Sonali Bendre. The prolific guest list also included Priyadarshi, Mahesh Narayan, Anirban Bhattacharya and Parambrata Chatterjee.

OTTplay Awards were selected by an esteemed jury comprising of key figures from the film fraternity and also esteemed veteran journalists. The jury included filmmakers Aanand L Rai and Ashwini Iyer Tiwari and actors Divya Dutta and Adil Hussain.

A look at the all the winners from the big night:

Category Winner

Best Web Original Film - Popular Jai Bhim, Shershaah

Best Web Original Film - Jury Dasvi

Best Web Series - Popular The Family Man

Best Web Series - Jury Tabbar

OTTplay Readers' Choice Award: Best Series Vilangu

Best Director (Film) Shoojit Sircar (Sardar Udham)

Best Director (Series) Ram Madhavani, Vinod Rawat, Kapil Sharma (Arya 2)

Filmmaker of the Decade Pa. Ranjith

Best Actor Male - Popular (Film) Kartik Aaryan (Dhamaka)

Best Actor Female - Popular (Film) Taapsee Pannu (Haseen Dilruba)

Best Actor Male - Jury (Film) Arya (Sarpatta Parambai), Farhan Akhtar (Toofan)

Best Actor Female - Jury (Film) Vidya Balan (Jalsa)

Best Actor Male - Popular (Series) Tahir Raj Bhasin (Yeh Kaali Kaali Ankhein)

Best Actor Female - Popular (Series) Raveena Tandon (Aranyak)

Best Actor - Jury (Series) Manoj Bajpayee (The Family Man)

Best Supporting Actor Male (Film) Satish Kaushik (Thar)

Best Supporting Actor Female (Film) Neha Dhupia (A Thursday)

Best Supporting Actor Male (Series) Parambrata Chatterjee (Aranyak)

Best Supporting Actor Female (Series) Konkona Sen Sharma (Mumbai Diaries 26/11)

Best Actor in a Comic Role (Film) Deepak Dobriyal (Good Luck Jerry)

Best Actor in a Negative Role (Film) Harshvardhan Rane (Haseen Dilruba)

Best Actor in a Comic Role (Series) Jameel Khan (Gullak 3)

Best Actor in a Negative Role (Series) Kishore (She 2)

Best Debut Male (Film) Abhimanyu Dassani (Meenakshi Sundareshwar)

Best Debut Female (Film) Nimrat Kaur (Dasvi)

Best Debut Male (Series) Kunal Kapoor (Empire)

Best Story (Film) Mahesh Narayanan (Malik)

Best Dialogues (Film) Kanika Dhillon (Haseen Dilruba)

Best Story (Series) Charu Datta (Aranyak)

Best Screenplay (Series) Pushkar, Gayathri (Suzhal)

Best Dialogues (Series) Anirban (Mandaar)

Excellence in Reality Fiction Masaba Gupta (Masaba Masaba)

Best Onscreen Couple on OTT Dhruv Sehgal, Mithila Palkar (Little Things)

Emerging OTT Star Male Priyadarshi (Unheard & Loser 2 )

Emerging OTT Star Female Dushara Vijayan (Sarpatta Parambarai) and Aishwarya Lekshmi (Kaanekkaane)

Breakthrough Performance of the Year Male Guru Somasundaram (Minnal Murali)

Breakthrough Performance of the Year Female Sara Ali Khan (Atrangi Re)

OTT Performer of the Year Rajendra Prasad (Senapati)

Best Chat Show Host on OTT Karan Johar

Pioneering Contributions to New Wave Cinema Raj B Shetty and Rishab Shetty

About OTTplay:

OTTplay is India’s first ever smart recommendation engine, which handpicks the movies and shows that match your taste and language preferences by diving deep into the most number of OTT channels. The platform has launched 5 subscription packs in partnership with 12 Indian & International OTTs and has introduced 4 international OTTs in India. With the launch of subscriptions on OTTplay, you can choose from our 5 exciting packs and stream content of your choice on our app, web and mweb platforms. OTTplay brings together popular Indian OTT platforms such as SonyLIV, ZEE5, LIONSGATE PLAY, Sun NXT, ShemarooMe, Curiosity Stream, ShortsTV, DocuBay as well as makes 4 international OTTs - Hallmark Movies Now, DUST, FUSE+ and Tastemade+ available in India, backed by AI-based recommendation and content discovery technology enabling viewers to navigate   the clutter of OTT content with sheer ease and convenience.

No comments: